09-03-2007 02:03 PM CET - Arts & Culture


Press release from: San Antonio Theatre Coalition (SATCO)
PR Agency: PrimaDonna Productions
Writers and Directors selected for the 2007 TheatreASAP 24HR Playfest
Writers and Directors selected for the 2007 TheatreASAP 24HR Playfest

SATCO (San Antonio Theatre Coalition), the organization surpassing a decade is once again in the driver’s seat producing TheatreASAP, their annual 24-hour playfest. Yes, that's right TheatreASAP – the citywide event that has more action than a high school football game, more drama than a prime-time medical show, and more exhilaration than a carnival ride – is back to offer both participants and attendees another thrilling ride!

The KICK OFF EVENT will take place on Friday, September 7 at 7:30 PM AND the ONE NIGHT ONLY PERFORMANCE will take place on Saturday, September 8 w/curtain at 8:00 PM at the San Pedro Playhouse 800 W. Ashby Pl., San Antonio, TX 78212 (plenty of parking and wheelchair accessible)

Writers will receive a San Antonio-related phrase, a prop list, and a cast list (gender and age ranges only) at 7:30 PM on Friday, September 7 at San Pedro Playhouse (a SATCO member theatre). They will have to put the petal to the metal as they race against time, fighting off sleep, hunger, and writer’s block to create a theatrical work of art to turn in by 6 AM. Directors will be randomly assigned to scripts and their associated casts at 8 AM on Saturday, September 8 and will immediately begin rehearsing for a public performance at 8 PM that evening also at San Pedro Playhouse. Kat O’Neal, a veteran actress to TheatreASAP said, “I love the adrenaline rush I get knowing that in just a few short hours from actually receiving my script; it’s go time!” Actor Don Frame, another TheatreASAP veteran actor concurs, “[TheatreASAP] is the most fantastic theatre experience in our town!"

2007 TheatreASAP CAST: Tony Campbell, Matthew Byron Cassi, Chris Champlin, Joel Crabtree, Robin Early, Jade Esteban Estrada, Anna Gangai, Lisa Hart, Gregory Hinojosa, Heather Kelley, Danielle King, Sara Larson, Mellissa Marlowe, Fred Parker, Martha Prentiss, Varda Ratner, Mary Robinson, Gabriel Ruiz, Alicia Tafoya, Brett Thacker, J.T. Urick, Julie Vaquera, and Nikki Young

2007 TheatreASAP WRITERS: Lupe Flores, “Grito” (Grisel Acosta & Vincent Toro), Allison Orr Block, Ric Slocum, James Venhaus, and Antoinette Winstead.

2007 TheatreASAP DIRECTORS: Catherine Babbitt, Lou Garza, Chadd Green, Kathleen Lovejoy, Art Peden, and Sharon Shepherd.

PRICE: Tickets are $10 for SATCO members and $15 for non-members. Credit Cards are accepted. To make reservations for this ONE NIGHT ONLY EVENT, please call 210.779.6782

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Please visit us at www.satheatre.com or www.myspace.com/satheatre

Di Ann Sneed, TheatreASAP 2007 Chairman, dsneed@sanpedroplayhouse.com 210.733.7258
Nikki Young, TheatreASAP Publicity, nikki@primadonnaproductions.com

BACKGROUND: SATCO is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt, non-profit service organization founded in 1995 to facilitate communication and cooperation among the many theatre organizations in and around San Antonio, Texas. Whether a theatre is college/university, community based, professional or a combination, each contributes to the vitality of theatre in the area. SATCO exists to provide a unified entity, which helps all theatres to meet the challenges of the future as San Antonio and its arts continue to grow. SATCO provides many benefits to members as well as the entire theatre community, including an informational website, the Playbill (a listing of current and upcoming productions), E-Auditions, cast parties and workshops to name a few.

This release was published on openPR.
News-ID: 27192 • Views: 5947
More releasesMore releases

You can edit or delete your press release here: