11-12-2012 05:27 PM CET - Politics, Law & Society

Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program Announces Pro Bono Awards Recipients

Press release from: Dallas Bar Association

The Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program (DVAP), a joint program of the Dallas Bar Association and Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas, hosted the 30th Pro Bono Awards Reception on October 18 at the Belo Mansion, which honored judges, attorneys, law firms, court reporters and legal staff who provide free legal services to indigent residents of Dallas County.

In a 12-month period, volunteers gave over more than 43,000 hours of free legal aid to the less fortunate of Dallas. The Dallas Volunteer Attorney Program has consistently been recognized as one of the country’s most successful programs of its kind. Each year, an awards program is held to recognize the volunteers who provide free legal aid to those who are unable to afford them.

KoonsFuller was presented The Lisa Blue & Fred Baron Access to Justice Award, which is given jointly by the DBA and Legal Aid of NorthWest Texas to a deserving individual, group or organization for their outstanding dedication to pro bono work and serving those less fortunate.

Other awards presented during the ceremony were the Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year, which went to John O’Connor, an associate at Weil, Gotshal & Manges, who, over a three-month period, contributed more than 500 hours of pro bono work.

The Pro Bono Firm of the Year was awarded to Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P., whose attorneys donated nearly 2,000 hours of pro bono services to DVAP clients.

Additional awards presented include:

o Hartman Judicial Pro Bono Service Award: Hon. Tena Callahan, 302nd District Court
o Outstanding New Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year: Dan Nathan, Attorney at Law
o Gold Award for Pro Bono Service: Baker Botts, L.L.P.; Bracewell & Giuliani LLP; Haynes and Boone LLP; and Patton Boggs LLP
o Silver Award for Pro Bono Service: Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP; The Bassett Firm; Jones Day; and Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP;
o Bronze Award for Pro Bono Service: American Airlines, Inc.; Andrews Kurth LLP; Locke Lord LLP; and Vinson & Elkins LLP
o Pro Bono Coordinator of the Year: Kendall Hayden, Cozen O’Connor
o Outstanding Clinic Attorney Volunteer—West Dallas: Russ Hubbard, American Airlines, Inc.
o Outstanding Clinic Attorney Volunteer—Garland: L. Brad Johnson, L. Brad Johnson, PLLC
o Outstanding Clinic Attorney Volunteer—South: Lisa Shirley, Simon Greenstone Panatier Bartlett
o Outstanding Veterans Clinic Volunteer—Chris Attig, Attig Law Firm, PLLC
o Outstanding Clinic Attorney Volunteer—East Dallas: Justin Connor, Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P.
o Pro Bono Court Reporter of the Year: Glenda Johnson, 256th Family District Court
o Outstanding Court Personnel: Twyla Weatherford, 302nd Family District Court
o Outstanding Support Volunteer: Janet McClain, Texas Health and Human Services
o Outstanding In-House Volunteer: Ilene Breitbarth, Attorney at Law
o Lois Bacon Special Services Award: DAYL Elder Law Committee
o Pro Bono Appreciation Award: Paul K. Stafford, Carter Stafford PLLC
o Outstanding Clinic Sponsor: Prudential
o Outstanding Outreach Clinic Attorney: Craig Collins, Attorney at Law

The Dallas Bar Association is a professional, voluntary organization of more than 10,000 Dallas-area attorneys. Find out more at www.dallasbar.org.

Jessica Smith, Communications/Media Director
Dallas Bar Association
2101 Ross Avenue
Dallas, TX 75201

This release was published on openPR.
News-ID: 241477 • Views: 2797
More releases More releases
Permanent link to this press release:

Please set a link in the press area of your homepage to this press release on openPR.
openPR disclaims liability for any content contained in this release.

You can edit or delete your press release here: