openPR Logo
Press release

Surviving The Nazi Holocaust - A First Person Account By Author Alice Rene In 'Becoming Alice, A Memoir'

08-11-2011 01:34 PM CET | Arts & Culture

Press release from: Alice Rene

Words can never describe the horrors the Nazi regime brought down upon the human race. Words will never do justice to the suffering imposed upon millions of Jewish victims and their families. Words can, however, show us how to move beyond hatred and death. They can show us how to go beyond survival to acceptance, and how we can learn to apply the lessons learned from such circumstances in our own lives today. Alice Rene has written those words in her memoir, 'Becoming Alice'.

"I wrote this book," stated Ms. Rene, "because my grandson chose to write about the holocaust to fulfill a school assignment and interviewed me as an expert on the subject. He knew I was born in Vienna and survived Nazi oppression, but not much else since I hardly ever spoke about it. I didn't want my children and grandchildren to feel themselves victims because they are Jewish. I wrote 'Becoming Alice' to show them and others how I, despite my background, came to consider myself just like any other person who can enjoy life to its fullest."

‘Becoming Alice, A Memoir’ is a true story in which a child tells us how she survives the holocaust. Overcoming horrific hatred, life threatening danger, and a harrowing escape, Ilse must choose her life's path.

Ilse's odyssey ends in Portland, Oregon. Traumatized by these events and being different from other children as a refugee, she struggles to fit into the American landscape. She suffers even more distress because of the discord between her troubled family: an overbearing father, a stressed mother, and a rebellious brother. Ilse, now called Alice, refuses to become a victim of the holocaust and takes a path to a better place.

Writer’s Digest Magazine called the book ‘ . . . a magnificent memoir and an impressive, courageous piece of work.’ Midwest Book Review stated that ‘Becoming Alice” is ‘. . . a deftly written memoir that will hold the reader’s attention from beginning to end.’ Saginaw Valley State University is using the book as part of the curriculum in an intercultural communication and identity course.

"'Becoming Alice'", Ms. Rene continued, "is a book which will appeal to readers who come from all different walks of life. It has found meaning for adolescents who feel they don't fit in and aren't accepted by their peers. It is an inspiration for people who have problems they think they cannot overcome. It illustrates that there is a positive life for them once they have survived their problems."

In the tradition of ‘The Diary of Anne Frank’, ‘Becoming Alice’ is destined to become more than just a book. For while it is a story of one Jewish girl's journey from darkness to light, the lessons it offers apply to all of us. It is a tale that will inspire anyone to take the path beyond survival to be able to enjoy life's bounty.

Alice Rene is available for media interviews and can be reached using the information below, or by email at alicerene1@aol.com. ‘Becoming Alice, A Memoir’ is available at Amazon.com, BarnesAndNoble.com and at BooksAMillion.com as a paperback and also as Kindle and Nook book. More information is available at Alice Rene's website at www.AliceRene.com.

Alice Rene grew up in Portland, Oregon and attended Reed College before moving to California where she received a Master’s degree in Social Welfare from the University of California at Berkeley. She worked as a Medical Caseworker at UC Hospital in San Francisco, teaching the house staff the importance of social and emotional issues in understanding and treating patients.

She began writing seriously after a grandson interviewed her for a high school history assignment. She realized then that her story might be of interest to a wider audience. After studying the art and craft of writing for several years, she wrote her memoir, ‘Becoming Alice’. She now lives in southern California with her husband and is working on her next book.

2259 Camelia Dr.
Supply NC 28462
alicerene1@aol.com
http://www.AliceRene.com

This release was published on openPR.

Permanent link to this press release:

Copy
Please set a link in the press area of your homepage to this press release on openPR. openPR disclaims liability for any content contained in this release.

You can edit or delete your press release Surviving The Nazi Holocaust - A First Person Account By Author Alice Rene In 'Becoming Alice, A Memoir' here

News-ID: 187194 • Views: 1415

More Releases from Alice Rene

11-24-2010 | Arts & Culture
Alice Rene
Award Winning Author And Speaker Alice Rene Chosen To Appear In '50 Great Writer …
Alice Rene, author of 'Becoming Alice: A Memoir', was recently chosen to appear in '50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading'. The book is produced by The Authors Show. Ms. Rene was chosen from from among hundreds of interviewees. "I am honored" stated Ms. Rene, "to have been chosen as one of the fifty authors to be included in the book, 50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading. Even though my

More Releases for Jewish

Spring in Vienna, royal chaos and a jewish preacher
The project “Royal Chaos” departs from the Gestalt psychological term “supersummativity”, which is, the concept that the total is more than the sum of its parts. Cognition and perception are based on complex relationships that are impossible to explain just by analyzing individual parts. By weaving different layers of images together, the project creates a multi-dimensional experience through moving form and color that allows the pictures to come alive. Thus,
Bilzin Sumberg Attorney Sacha A. Boegem To Serve On Greater Miami Jewish Federat …
Miami, FL – October 2, 2013 – Sacha A. Boegem, an attorney in Bilzin Sumberg Baena Price & Axelrod LLP's Litigation Group, was selected to serve on the 2013-2014 Jewish Community Relations Council, the advocacy and public affairs arm of the Greater Miami Jewish Federation. In this role, Mr. Boegem will advocate regularly in Washington, D.C. and Tallahassee on behalf of public policies of importance to the local community that
Jewish Holidays Meet Social Media
Online Synagogue Tweets Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur Services for 1st Time and Video-Streams for 4th Year These Rabbis Encourage “Chatting” During Services CINCINNATI (September 20, 2011) – Last year 14,000 computers were logged in to celebrate the Jewish High Holidays with the first and largest contemporary online synagogue, OurJewishCommunity.org. For the upcoming holidays this year, (Rosh Hashanah Sept. 28-29, Yom Kippur Oct. 7-8), thousands more are expected. For the first
Horowitz releases second CD of modern Jewish music
Singer, songwriter and musician, Sue Horowitz, is a quickly rising star in the modern Jewish music scene and she’s just released her latest CD entitled “In The Water.” The CD was co-produced in Nashville, TN by Grammy-nominated producer, engineer and musician Mark Niemiec, and well-known Jewish rocker Dan Nichols. Horowitz took the Jewish music market by storm with the release of her first CD, “Eleven Doors Open.” That CD was produced
Jewish Basketball Hall of Fame Producers Announce New Sweepstakes
9/29/08, Bethpage, NY: The Producers of the Jewish Basketball Hall of Fame and JewishPrideSportsHeroes, announced the launch of the first ever sweepstakes. The winner will be announced once a week and a grand prizewinner will be announced once a month. Sweepstakes winners will receive a Jewish Basketball Hall of Fame Poster and DVD while grand prizewinners will receive a tee shirt in addition to the other prizes. The only place to
Critics Applaud Jewish Basketball Hall of Fame DVD
Bethpage, NY, 8/7/08: The Jewish Basketball Hall of Fame DVD has received rave reviews from critics, reports Izzi Lifshutz, one of the DVD's producers and one-time basketball player at Jerusalem's Hebrew University. The DVD is a rare collection containing the most complete action history of the twentieth century's legendary Jewish basketball players. It brings to life over thirty players in all their glory for the first time. And, talk about